Life’s Purpose

31 May

Teaching young ladies how to speak up for themselves, especially when money is concerned.  If another girl shrugs when I ask her how much she charges for babysitting, I am totally going to take advantage.  And make her sorry for it.  I have been working on this for a long time and it is not helping.  If you want to get paid a fair wage, you will have to think about money.  And not just take what is offered to you. 

I may have been a bit heavy handed on the lecture today with a new sitter.  I explained what I traditionally pay for two kids and suggested a slightly lower rate and asked if it was ok.  You’d think she’d never acknowledged hard currency before.

Thus, I will have to go out a lot to give lots of youth a chance to learn my wisdom and life lessons about finances.

2 Responses to “Life’s Purpose”

  1. Kristine May 31, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

    Yikes! As one who doesn’t like confrontation, I can relate to your victims. Which is exactly why I hated babysitting.
    Be nice!!

  2. Amy May 31, 2014 at 5:14 pm #

    It’s not just girls, either . . . my son did the same thing for shoveling driveways this winter and made his friend (and his parents) really mad.

Leave a Reply

