Burgled

28 May

Any of you who see me on Facebook already know but we had someone break into our house.  I was gone for 45 minutes picking up Cole from school.  The thief took Todd’s toiletry bag and not the valuable drugs next to them on the shelf (epilepsy is a great front for making money off prescription meds).  Took my very old ipod, weaponry, camera.

I walked in, with the boys, and smelled cigarette smoke.  Noticed things awry in bathroom.  Made them come out in bare feet on hot concrete (Cole’s overall reaction to the events of the day is that he burned his feet).  Called 911…waited nearly half an hour…friend came and got the kids.  Yada yada yada.

Probably won’t file an insurance claim–depreciated value of stuff plus the deductible.  Very annoyed about our camera with several months worth of photos still on the memory card.

I must say this: It is all my fault.  I never lock the door.  Todd was right.  I was wrong.  I am a terrible person who should worry more about bad guys.  Did I mention, this is all my fault?

On the brighter side, a neighbor stopped by last night.  She noticed the dog out wandering, saw the gate open.  She put him back in and closed the gate.  We don’t know her.  Have never spoken to her.  She recognized Peter Parker though and knew he shouldn’t be out.  I found that very sweet.

As you might imagine, the Todd husband is obsessed now.  He wants cameras.  Booby traps.  Mandalay Man Traps (best thing ever in a short story (THE MOST DANGEROUS GAME)).

We are all fine.  Tummy aches for the night all around but better now.  I’m glad we weren’t here.  I would be more glad if I wasn’t fairly certain the creepy weird people across the street are the ones responsible–they watch me come and go all day, sitting out on the porch smoking and never going to work.

If you have any questions, please ask.  I so rarely involve law enforcement in my life.  Maybe that will change going forward.

3 Responses to “Burgled”

  1. Gerry Hanni May 28, 2014 at 3:19 pm #

    We had this twice at 1040 with a lot of things taken. Makes one feel vulnerable. I to am glad that we didn’t meet them face to face. ggh

  2. spanishjenna May 28, 2014 at 5:32 pm #

    We got a Piper security system last week. I hate the dark and aloneness and my worst nightmare is someone breaking into our house in the night with me alone. I shoot him as he comes up the stairs. He falls wounded but not dead in the hallway between me and my boys and our escape route. It would be awful. Do I shoot him dead? I don’t know!!

    Ben’s voting you get bear traps. And he wants Todd to spend the night in the bushes with a bat.

  3. eliana May 28, 2014 at 6:08 pm #

    Todd would also like to lie in wait.

Leave a Reply

