Ooh, Thought I

19 May

From the essay Regeneration by Nicole Walker in Spring 2014 issue of Creative Nonfiction.

Is it a human’s great gift or her great curse that her first thought is What about my children? Before I had kids, I had all kinds of causes. Save the whales. Save the cougars. Stop people from overwatering their lawns. Protest pulp plants. Neuter stray cats. Now that I have kids, I have one cause: make sure my kids survive the day. I am still an activist. My tools are carrots. Seat belts. Helmets. Sunscreen. The sun shivers at my ability to deploy an amount of sunscreen worthy an eclipse.

 

I love this! I think similarly, especially when there is a fundraiser involving animals: sorry folks, the creatures just don’t make the cut.  I don’t want them all to die, but humans get my attention/time/dollars way before any animal.

Leave a Reply

