Changing Bodies

4 May

I have only sons.  They know about making babies.  They don’t so much know about sex being for more than that, but I’m thinking this summer will be another level of talk.

My friend has two sons close in age to mine.  She told me that the other day in the car, her eight-year-old said, “Mom’s going to start her period soon I think.”  This because my friend had been yelling a lot.  She admitted that the child was right.

I have a lot of thoughts about this situation.  They are not judgmental thoughts, which you may be expecting, since I am often a terrible woman in that way.

  1. There must be a lot of PMS talk at that house.  I don’t think anyone in this house has ever mentioned such a thing.  Todd may have thought it but never voiced it.  He’s a genius that way.
  2. My kids don’t know what a period is.  I have always thought that hearing that your mother bleeds every month would be traumatic.  Frankly I’m surprised that it hasn’t come up what with the Complete Lack of Privacy in my life, but it really hasn’t.  Owen asked me about tampons once and I briefly said something.  He said, “Oh, like when babies are born and there is blood.”  And that was when I realized I should not have been watching Call the Midwife with him.
  3. Periods are lame.  I am all girl power and whatnot but I can’t get on board with any enthusiasm for this aspect of womanhood.  Last year, when I thought I was mysteriously pregnant but wasn’t, my doctor said that if I was going into early menopause I would have to take drugs to prevent it.  All I could think was, are you kidding me?  That sounds like the best medical issue I’ve ever heard of!

I will save for another traumatic day a reenactment of my mother attempting any and all discussions of physical maturation.

 

2 Responses to “Changing Bodies”

  1. spanishjenna May 14, 2014 at 8:16 pm #

    You can’t blog this much when I’m in Missouri. My boys love to unwrap tampons like tons of little presents hiding in my bathroom.

  2. debbiemom May 19, 2014 at 10:08 am #

    I simply cannot wait to be reminded of this partnering success (ha ha). It is great to get old and not remember details of embarrassing
    moments.

Leave a Reply

