Good and True

3 Feb

I just read a fast little book called Glitter and Glue by Kelly Corrigan.  I can’t really recommend it as great but it was nice and fun and that sort of thing.  Nonfiction.  About a girl realizing she may turn into her mother.

Totally inapplicable to my life.  Don’t I wish.

Here’s a quote, probably the best paragraph of the whole thing.

But now I see there’s no such thing as a woman, one woman.  There are dozens inside every one of them.  I probably should’ve figured this out sooner, but what child can see the women inside her mom, what with all that Motherness blocking out everything else?

Told ya, lots to think about in a couple short sentences.  Is it possible for a child to see a parent as anything other than Mother/Father?  I suspect it might be mind blowing to even try before 20 or so.

 

Leave a Reply

