Smarter

8 Jan

My sad little cell phone has been dying for a while–it turns off willy nilly, freezes, probably makes whimpering sounds when I’m not around.  But I was waiting until it was really truly cold and in the grave before replacing it, much to the chagrin of all the males in this house.

So Todd manned up and bought me a phone for Christmas.  The very phone I had thought about buying at a ridiculous Black Friday price but then realized that I would rather die than go to a store on Black Friday.  So he just went online and got the deal.  Never occurred to me.

Now I have a smarter phone.  Not a hip Jobsian one of course, because I’m cheap, but leaps and bounds above the old one.  I concede that it is nice to have a phone that does things.  Not a lot of things because I was super annoyed at our Christmas guests for their addiction to their cell phone games, but still.

I feel old in my slowness to figure out how to do things on my phone.  For example, it whistles when I have a text message.  It is a very realistic whistle.  I know that I can figure out how to change the sound.  I have confidence in my brain.  It just seems hard.  And vaguely annoying.  And maybe I’ll just live with the whistling.

And that is my story about how I joined the modern kids these days with their new fangled techno phones.

2 Responses to “Smarter”

  1. cindy January 14, 2014 at 6:35 am #

    let me know when you are ready for words with friends on your phone.

  2. debbiemom January 22, 2014 at 9:46 pm #

    You d on’t want to be slower than you mom on her phone. Dad’s whistles too. It does a train whistle as well. It is embarrassing in a movie theater.

Leave a Reply

