Theme for the Year

5 Jan

IMG_20140103_135017

Less.

That’s my overarching thought for the next 360 days.  Not ‘less is more.’  Just less of things that take up time but don’t give me back the things I want or need.

Less watching, less spending, less eating food for the sake of eating.  Less reading, less worrying, less crying.  Doing all of those things at the right time and place.  But not trying to fill my days or hours.

Spending money mindfully on things that are important to me, like traveling with our family.  Eating things that are worth it.  Reading books that are amazing and not finishing things that just fill my brain with uselessness.  That doesn’t mean they have to be deep–truly funny is very useful.

This is what I’m thinking about.  Doing less.  Allowing quiet.  Running without music.  Walking.  Writing.  Being with my kids.  Life but a bit less frantic.

We’ll see how it goes.

2 Responses to “Theme for the Year”

  1. kristine January 6, 2014 at 11:11 pm #

    I really like your goals. Very thoughtful. I hope you are satisfied with the outcome! 🙂

  2. MBC January 8, 2014 at 5:30 pm #

    I love this.

Leave a Reply

