No Mas

29 Dec

I’m here with an announcement.  I even have discussed it with the Husband before making a blanket pronouncement (even though I prefer to have whims and make others follow them).

No presents will be given or received in this house in 2014.

We just have so much.  It is ridiculous.

I’m not mean.  Really.  Kids have talked about it too.  We’ll celebrate birthdays and such with an activity.  But no presents.  I’ll be sending thoughtful and humorous missives to peeps.  But I won’t be buying.  Etsy might wither up and die without my business, so I apologize in advance for that.

I think it will be good.  Hard, especially for me since gifts are a way I show love.  But branching out is good.  Moving past the initial impulse to buy might make me dig a little deeper, give of my time rather than wallet.  And I want us to stop filling our house with stuff.

I’ll write more soon about my theme for 2014 (thanks to MBC for the idea of a theme rather than resolutions), and the No Gifting will definitely tie into the Big Picture.

So no gifts.  Write us a note instead.  That includes you mom.  Don’t test me.

3 Responses to “No Mas”

  1. Kristine December 30, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

    Wow! Good luck with that. 🙂

  2. Liz December 30, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

    Love this!

  3. Kate December 31, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    Nice!

Leave a Reply

