A Year in Books

8 Dec

Goodreads tells me that I have reached my goal of 100 books for calendar year 2013.  This is more than usual.  I have blogged previously about several fabulous reads earlier this year, so I won’t rehash.

Six books that I haven’t written about that I very much enjoyed:

The Visionist by Rachel Urquhart

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

The Dog Stars by Peter Heller

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

Far From the Tree by Andrew Solomon

 

This last book deserves a whole giant post.  One of the most interesting things I have ever read.  EVER.  I wish I could make people read it so that I could talk to you all about it.  Full disclosure: 900 plus pages.  But…keep reading here…the last 200 or so are notes and an annotated bibliography.  So really we’re talking about 700 ish.  The book is about families dealing with children who have differences, ranging from deafness to prodigies.  So so interesting.  So much to think about.  Fascinating.

Going through my notes, I realized how many lovely books I have read this year.  More just plain nice ones than I usually read.  Fewer books about India.  A few major disappointments, as happens in life.  If you are looking for a specific recommendation in a genre or even weirdly narrow like “books about troubled immigrants and their return to their homeland” I can totally hook you up (that last category has a couple good ones in it).

 

Leave a Reply

