A Poem

4 Dec

I love/hate this poem.  My children won’t grow up, right?  I’m in a bind right now about what to do for Cole at school; he should probably skip a grade in every way except emotionally.  So that wins.  But he’s head and shoulders past everything they do and it is becoming ridiculous, even at this science magnet school.  Sigh.  I fear I will be worrying about this for the next ten years.  Anyway, a poem.  Enjoy.

Packing the Car  by Linda Lee Crosfield

he packs the car with memories

his, not mine

in crates and boxes he takes

from the house like evidence removed from the scene of a crime

 

I watch as he stands back

surveys his work

his eyes narrow

and he leans into the car

adjusts a box this way

turns another on its side

making everything fit

making room for

just one more

 

as I watch him I remember

the first jigsaw puzzle we did together

I kept putting his hand on the right piece

showing him how best to place it

here

or here

until he frowned and said

he could do it himself

and did

 

I stand aside

watch helplessly

as books stream from shelves

into boxes, out the door

and I envy them their invitation

to accompany him on this journey

to the rest of his life

 

gradually I’ll notice little things

the phone will stop being for him

there’ll be one less toothbrush

by the bathroom sink

and milk will last longer than a day

 

but right now

the dog who’s famous

for her big brown eyes

closes them tight

when he says goodbye

and her tail droops

lower than my heart

as tires crunch

against the gravel in the driveway

and he drives off

into the late summer morn

 

3 Responses to “A Poem”

  1. spanishjenna@yahoo.com December 4, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    If I wasn’t pregnant, I wouldn’t have read it. And I wouldn’t have cried. Now I have to do homework in this state. So thanks.

    I worry about my kids in school every single day and we’re 3 years away from kindergarten. They will be fine, though, right? And part of life is learning to be mature in ways other than academic ways, right? I have to remember that academics is not the beginning and end of it all. And soon enough Cole will be in high school where he will have other options.

  2. Liz December 5, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Oh, this one is a doozie. For sure.

  3. Linda Crosfield August 24, 2014 at 2:49 pm #

    I love that you love and hate this one. I feel much the same way! Thanks for caring enough to put it on your blog.

Leave a Reply

