Updates

9 Aug

Cole’s finishing up the first week.  I think it is going well.  His class this year is almost evenly split between boys and girls which is an anomaly so I’m wondering how that will change the dynamics.  He’s growing up.  Lots.  Had to buy new clothes yesterday since he just keeps growing.  Piano lessons start next week.  My days of unscheduled life are coming to an end.

Today marks two full weeks of me getting up and exercising every morning.  I am proud of myself.

We are going to see the Smiths Who Moved and Left Us this weekend.  I am excited but sad.  I’m noticing that I have a lot of words inside me each day and, without Lara, the words are building up and have no escape.  Will there be an explosion, like a Langston Hughes poem?  Or will my brain just shrivel up and die?  These are big real questions.

I’m trying to make cute lunches this year.  I had my friend Sachiyo bring me some bento supplies back from Japan.  I’m not all gung ho, but I am making a slight effort, trying to see if I can make Cole eat food at school.  He seems charmed but it is still early in the year.  Maybe I’ll take some pictures for ya.  Mostly I’m trying to do small amounts of lots of different things in cute little containers with amusing shapes or accoutrements.  I think this is a phase that won’t last long.

I’m starting to worry about Owen and preschool.  He’ll love it.  But I think about him having a seizure and me being 20 minutes away teaching and how I won’t be there to comfort him…enough to keep a girl awake at night.  It will be fine.  It will be fine.

I have someone awesome watching my kids for an hour on Tuesdays before Todd gets home when I have to go to work.  I feel like a prayer has been answered.  It might be the most perfect arrangement humanly possible.  Really.

One Response to “Updates”

  1. Kristine August 10, 2013 at 5:46 am #

    So glad the fam is doing well and things are working out! Post school schedules are difficult and annoying… I think I’m taking a break for the fall. I understand your Owen worries. It is so hard to put your trust in others if things go wrong. Sending calming vibes your way!

Leave a Reply

