Thump Thump

27 Jul

I recently got a doctor because I’ve never had a primary care one and it seemed the thing to do.

After a medical history, she made me get an EKG.  Why?  Apparently long term use of selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors can mess with your heart.  Why has this never been mentioned to me before?  I’ve been on an SSRI antidepressant for 16 years (January I will cross the line to more of my life on than off medication).

We did the test, easy peasy.  But it turns out that there are some issues.  I’m not happy.  I may be fat and depressed and lots of other things, but I’ve got a great heart (in so many ways!)  We had a chat about what heart pain/problems feels like and when to go to the ER.  I did not enjoy it.

Now I am unsure of what to do.  I’m thinking of stopping the meds.  If you are a longtime friend of blog reader, you know that such an attempt does not generally go well for me.  These drugs have changed my life and kept me alive.  But now they are killing me (in the most dramatic extreme of what could possibly, probably not, happen).  My brain is busy thinking about this.

 

In other medical news, fabulous article about change in the medical field in The New Yorker.  Because I’m so nice, I’ll link to it for you here.  Great smart writing makes me so happy, I can’t even tell you.

2 Responses to “Thump Thump”

  1. kristine July 28, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    You are being too vague. I need details here.

  2. andreamccormack July 28, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

    I have never heard of heart issues with antidepressants. I think you just way the risks. my guess is there is more of a risk to you to go off your meds, than a risk to have major heart issues. that is my opinion being someone that has known you awhile

Leave a Reply

