Friendster

20 Jun

How do you actually move past acquaintences to become friends?  This is a serious question.  I don’t do coffee…or maragaritas…which are the default activities for spending increased time together with a person. 

I need help, clearly.  With little kids you can have park time or have someone come over and chat while kids play.  What do other people do?  I have a few people in my life that have potential to be more…but I don’t know what to do.

My peeps are all gone just about.  Every year, someone moves away, and I haven’t been keeping up.  This one person is coming along the friend pipeline nicely but I can’t act too needy or she’ll be scared away.  I feel like this used to be easier.  Was it?  Is this a whiny post?  I don’t know.  Sorry.

4 Responses to “Friendster”

  1. spanishjenna June 20, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    Not whiney. Funny. A little pathetic. Difficult. You should start drinking. That’s the answer. Book club? Garden club? Corvette club?

  2. Kristine June 21, 2013 at 5:06 am #

    You have a girls night! Meet for dinner and/or a chick flick. Or you can just meet for lunch. I like to shop together too. 🙂 Good luck!

    • eliana23 June 21, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

      Of the two people in the pipeline, one’s husband is deployed right now and the other one has a husband who doesn’t watch the kids, so the scheduling without small people is definitely a challenge.

  3. Kate June 26, 2013 at 7:24 am #

    It seems so long ago, but–remember–one of our first dates was at Barnes and Noble. That seems appropriate, with or without kids. You could get a cafe drink and sip and chat in the kids’ section if necessary. Congrats on your new possibilities!

Leave a Reply

