Full Discloser

5 Jun

The husband and I have a difference of opinion about epilepsy.

I think that anyone who cares for Owen, for pretty much any amount of time, should know that he has seizures.  While they are more common under certain circumstances, their is a chance that it could happen on their watch.  As a babysitter, teacher, anything, I would want to know that information.  I always make sure to explain what a seizure for him looks like, what to do and what he needs, and that the person can certainly call 911 if he/she is uncomfortable.

Todd doesn’t tell anyone anything.

When we tried out a new babysitter a few weeks ago for a short movie afternoon, a girl who knows us well and already knew generally about Owen, the Todd told her that Owen hadn’t had a seizure in 6 months and not to worry at all.  I wish that was true but it totally isn’t.

I think the husband 1)doesn’t ever like disclosing anything, 2)doesn’t want his child to seem disabled, and 3)honestly doesn’t think that there’s much wrong with his kid.  All three of these things are problematic to me.

Am I off base?  Should I keep my mouth shut?  We started Tiny Tumblers this week and were a few minutes late on the first day so I didn’t say anything to the teachers.  I stay right outside while most parents drop off.  Yesterday we got there a little early and I was going to say something but I didn’t.  I’m torn.  Seriously. Advice would be helpful.

3 Responses to “Full Discloser”

  1. Liz June 5, 2013 at 10:01 am #

    Of course you should say something! He is going into a gym class with tumbling and rough contact. A heads up to the instructor, along with letting her know that you are staying to watch, is definitely appropriate.

  2. Kristine June 5, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    Mike is the same way (generally) with Noah, thank goodness I am the one in charge. Haha. I would definitely say something.

  3. MBC June 5, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

    I would want to know if I were in charge of Owen for any length of time.

Leave a Reply

