Literary Musings

27 May

First, two excellent children’s books of late.  I have a mean thing in which I won’t read any picture book more than once at a sitting, so we go through about ten zillion books per week.  Precisely.  These are two that touched a weird, happy part of Owen and his mama’s soul.

Two of Owen's favorite things--mustaches and babies--in a hilarious book with lovely illustrations.

Two of Owen’s favorite things–mustaches and babies–in a hilarious book with lovely illustrations.

51IivcLcTJL__SX300_

My kids are in love with their father so this tale of a boy and his dad on a special adventure is great, especially since the mishaps are spot on.

On the more grown up end of things, I just finished reading a book that was very good and thoughtful and interesting.  Even the title says it all.  And it reminded me of a different but related book I read about ten years ago that stuck with me.  Both books are about having a child with Down’s Syndrome.  Both nonfiction.  As many of you know, my dad’s youngest sister as well as my cousin both have Down’s Syndrome, so it is something I have always been comfortable with.  The mothers in each of these books come from an entirely different place of fear which made the books even more interesting.

Doesn't that title say so much, for any birth?  I would highly highly recommend this to anyone.

Doesn’t that title say so much, for any birth? I would highly highly recommend this to anyone.

Expecting Adam by Martha Beck.  Martha Beck has reinvented herself since she wrote this, but that is another story.  This is a harsh book in many ways, but...I'm not sure how to describe it.

Expecting Adam by Martha Beck. Martha Beck has reinvented herself since she wrote this, but that is another story. This is a harsh book in many ways, but…I’m not sure how to describe it.

Finally, we went to see GREAT GATSBY.  Not as over the top as I expected.  Spectacular casting and acting.  Four stars.  Why are all the amazing books so so depressing?  It sucked a little something out of me.

One Response to “Literary Musings”

  1. Kate May 27, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    Nice post!

Leave a Reply

