Book Lists

1 May

My brother Zach has requested some book lists from our family.  Talk about my favorite assignment ever! I love to recommend books to people, especially people I know well so that I can tailor make the perfect list.

Zach specifically asked for both classic and newer literature.  I’m good at current or at least modern stuff, not so great at classics.  The Todd husband is exactly the opposite.

Classics is a broad category, I know, but some of my favorites include The Awakening by Kate Chopin and Great Expectations by Charles Dickens.  I always enjoy Brave New World, To Kill a Mockingbird, 1984, and many other 1940-1960s titles.  Before 1900, my brain is pretty empty of things I actually like.

So dear readers, tell me a book written before 1900 that you have really enjoyed.  I’ve read most female authored ones unless you have some amazing trove of hidden stuff, so think harder.  Thanks!

One Response to “Book Lists”

  1. spanishjenna May 1, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    THE MONK–Matthew Gregory Lewis–dark, a little strange, but good
    THE DEATH OF ARTEMIO CRUZ–Carlos Fuentes–think Citizen Cane in Mexico
    Anything by Oscar Wilde
    And that’s all for now

Leave a Reply

