The Weekend

18 Mar
  • My grandpa finally died yesterday morning.  I will miss him but am glad that he was able to move on.  Heading up on the endless drive in a few days.  I hate driving.  I am scared a bit–doing it without the Todd.  Pray for me to stay awake.
  • Made coconut macaroons.  They don’t taste horrible.  They are weird though.  I won’t do it again.
  • Family soccer on Saturday, digging and splashing in the river Sunday (stake conference…not for me).  Good family times.
  • Gained 6 pounds in the past week from stress.  Guess how I feel about that.
  • Finished reading the very excellent The Secrets of Happy Families which I was going to write a whole blog about but won’t.  Todd made me buy it after hearing the author on NPR.  Todd?  A book about happiness and family effort?  Clearly I ordered it within 5 minutes of his recommendation.  Everyone should read it.  Great tone, thoughtful without being annoying, something for everyone.  Seriously.  Just buy it right now.  Do it.
  • I bought a funeral dress.  It is very pretty, I think.  Shopping helps me relieve stress.  This is why I have no grey hair but also no money.
4 Responses to “The Weekend”

  1. spanishjenna March 18, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

    Sorry about Grandpa. Really.

    Made macaroons once too. It will only ever happen once in my life too.

    Buying the book.

    Miss shopping at Ann Taylor with you. I have like one shirt and one pant and one dress. Everything else is jammies.

  2. Kristine March 18, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    Sorry about your Grandpa and your horrible drive ahead!! Surely a flight from Phoenix would be a better alternative!! A big fat YAY for shopping!!! Best stress reliever ever.

    • eliana23 March 18, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

      I could fly, but want to bring the kids and don’t want to pay for their tickets. Besides, Cole’s spring break is the next two weeks so he’s free anyway.

  3. Kate March 18, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

    Nice update! I’m sorry about your grandpa.

Leave a Reply

