Why I Should Be Mute

6 Mar

So I went out to a meeting tonight.  I saw a man I know from church, vaguely.  He asked my name which was a perfect opportunity for me to do the same since I didn’t know it.

Heard his name.

Said, “Oh, I know your wife.”

Man looks at me confused.

I saw woman’s name.

before you read further, you should know that I am not exaggerating any part of this narrative

Man says, “ex-wife.  She decided after 25 years she didn’t want to be married to me any more.”

I say, “I’m sorry.  I had no idea…”

Very. Awkward.  Beyond.  Apparently, it has been four years.  I clearly only know who his ex-wife is, not actually know her in real life.  I would like to crawl into a hole.

6 Responses to “Why I Should Be Mute”

  1. Kristine March 6, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

    Oh what a sad encounter on both sides! It seems strange that he would call you out on it though. Why not just smile, nod, and walk away?!?

  2. Kate March 6, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

    And then he asked if he could eat the rest of your food! (Ha, see it could been more awkward, like that lady with the cannoli, right?) Really, I don’t think this encounter is *that* bad. You just said you “know” his wife. You didn’t say you were friends with her. So, try to relax and not worry about it. You probably won’t see any of them for four more years anyway.

    • eliana23 March 7, 2013 at 7:26 am #

      So that’s the problem Kate–I see this guy every single Sunday. I just didn’t know his name. And now you made me wnat some Kneaders.

  3. spanishjenna March 7, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    Hahahaha!! Do I know these people?

  4. Liz March 7, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

    Wait, you see him every sunday but for FOUR years you didn’t realize that the wife was gone? Yes, that is bad.

    • eliana23 March 7, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

      In my defense, I didn’t know that they went together. And he’s only been in my ward for 3 months.

Leave a Reply

