A Thing That Is Wrong with Education

24 Oct

Last year I had to pay $58 to get a new MMR vaccine before I was allowed to volunteer at Cole’s school.  If my parents loved me and stuff, my mother would have had my childhood shot record.  Instead she says that she gave it to me at some point and I have no idea what she’s talking about.  Because I couldn’t prove that I had been immunized, I had to get a new shot.  This despite the fact that every child at the school has to be immunized.  Don’t think about it too much or it will make your head hurt.

This year I have proposed to start a creative writing club at Cole’s school.  I am an English professor and all…I worked up a lovely proposal, including funding issues and whatnot.

I’m getting worked up even writing about this.

To do the club, I will have to get a NEW fingerprint clearance card.  It cost $50 when I got one 13 years ago so I don’t know how much it is.  This is despite the fact that I am a certified teacher in Arizona and California.  Despite the fact that the FBI has my prints on file and has approved me to be with children many times, including when I became a certified foster parent.

In addition, the superintent has to think about what he thinks of this idea and give approval.

I am trying to be mature, but I am super annoyed at how hard it is to be involved with schools.  Seriously?  A professional says she wants to help your students do something and you are like, ‘maybe, we will see.’  I am annoyed.

One Response to “A Thing That Is Wrong with Education”

  1. jenna October 24, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    My blood pressure just went up. I can barely stand it. The year before Isaac goes to K, I’m joining the PTA. I’m serious about this. I have so many not nice things to say.

Leave a Reply

