Pigeon Holing

20 Oct

My sister liked Elvis once. She made the mistake of mentioning.  So then she was the Elvis gift receiver forever.  You probably know someone like this; my roommate Lisa had a brief fling with a cartoon character and could never stop aquiring things with his face on it.

With this in mind, I very much enjoyed David Sedaris’ piece in this weeks New Yorker, especially since I can’t help buying owl things for my other sister.  She might hate owls by now but once she liked them so when I see them, I think of her.

I don’t have a thing.  Maybe that’s what I’m missing?  Who knows.  I wrote about that, in an odd way, this week in my Chronicle of Higher Education blog.  You can read it if you want.  I refer to’ a fellow adjunct.’  It’s my friend Kate, if you must know.

2 Responses to “Pigeon Holing”

  1. spanishjenna October 21, 2012 at 4:32 am #

    I don’t know why you made me read that NYer article. Now I’ll have owl nightmares. Your article was much better–and I liked your thoughts.
    I got some Mickey Mouse fabric in February. I got it out to make pillows for the playroom. It felt stupid because Isaac doesn’t LOVE Mickey anymore. But I started the pillows anyway. Now they’re half done in my basement, looking ugly and inappropriate but they represent money and work and an old phase in my once-a-baby’s life. I don’t know what to do with them.

  2. Kate October 21, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Just a few weeks after I got hired, I bought a “Metropolitan Community College” water bottle, which I take to work every day and, of course, use with pride! 🙂

    When I was a kid, my Grandma Thomsen gave us a collection item. One of my cousins collected spoons. My “collection” was bells. So, for a while, I had bells from tourist destinations throughout mid-America. I wonder what happened to my “bell collection!” Ha!

    That same grandma loved cardinals, so everyone gave her cardinal stuff, like a cardinal windchime. She had a sweater with a cardinal on it. By the end, when she was in her late 70s/80s, seriously almost everything she got for Christmas had a cardinal on it. So odd. But the more I think about it all, the funnier it gets.

Leave a Reply

