Mantra

11 Oct

Parent teacher conference with Cole’s first grade lady.  I knew he liked her.  She’s a popular topic of conversation around the house.  First, she’s got mad skills at dealing with parents which makes me laugh–I totally see her handling me.  Not in a bad way, just different from last year’s first year teacher.

Anyway, Ms. Teacher said something and I think she’s a genius.  I might be making a poster of it (or one of you could, Dear Readers).  She told me what she’s working on with Cole this year.

Smart doesn’t mean perfect.

This is a thing for my kid.  I wish I had come up with those words several years ago, though he wouldn’t have listened.  He’s improved so much this year with his worrying and freezing panic about perfection.  But it is still there.  There’s some pressure on him as all the other students tell him he’s the smartest and come to him for help.  Ms. Teacher is aware and has another thing she taught Cole to say: ask three, then me.  As he says, “it’s a rhyme and a good idea.”

Anyway, thrilled with a teacher who’s not just letting the kid skate by.  She’s figuring out ways to push and support him where he’s at.  I couldn’t ask for any more.

In other news, Owen has hand food and mouth disease; none of the rash or sores are on his hands, feet or mouth so it is a bit odd.  He’s bumpy and a little gross but it isn’t bothering him a bit.

3 Responses to “Mantra”

  1. Kate October 13, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    Thanks for the school update. I always like to hear those.

  2. Kristine October 13, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    A great phrase to remember. Kira has many of these issues. Wonder where she gets it. Viruses are annoying– Lucy had this not long ago.

    • eliana23 October 13, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

      I know Kira gets it from her mother. Hello, stressed out wants to be perfect mother!

Leave a Reply

