Breaking My Heart

8 Sep

Cole told Todd yesterday that he’s trying to do really good in school because he doesn’t want to make bad choices like Uncle Ed.

Uncle Ed is making lots of bad choices.  I try to talk on the phone, or to Todd, mostly out of earshot.  They don’t know a lot of details.  But we did have a lesson about drugs and have talked about some other things.

I’m sad that Cole, at not quite seven years old, is having to see someone he loves fall apart.  I’m glad he knows how to make good choices and hope he keeps that sweet heart and clear head as he gets older.

On a related note, during the most recent drug conversation, Cole told me it is ok if you are just trying something out one time.  Because it isn’t being bad, it is just wondering about it and making a mistake.  That makes sense for lots of things–we often talk about trying an activity or food just one time.  I had to iterate strongly that you don’t put something in your body EVEN ONE TIME and that you shouldn’t do things just because you are curious.  I see that we will need more teaching on this point.

The last few weeks have been hard.  My baby brother truly is falling apart.  On purpose mostly.

2 Responses to “Breaking My Heart”

  1. Kristine September 8, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    I’m sorry to hear about your brother. How hard it must be to try to balance life lessons to Cole without causing him worry. Addiction is such a cruel and frustrating cycle to witness.

  2. Kate September 9, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    😦

Leave a Reply

