Raising the Men

17 Aug

I have three brothers who I love who are all very troubled in different ways.  It is a big concern for me as I raise two little man people.  Raising Cain is one of my favorite books, in case you are stuck with your own tiny man.  I enjoyed, though am saddened, by this article by Steve Almond who wrote a book I enjoyed because of my similar obsession (Candyfreak).  Read, but be warned that it might make you tired.

One Response to “Raising the Men”

  1. spanishjenna August 18, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    That article kind of made me want to throw up. I don’t worry about bullies. In fact, I wanted boys because, isn’t it easier to be a boy? It was HARD for me to be a girl.

    I was raised with strong, big boys. I’m married to a strong, big boy. I have strong, big boys. But what if my kids are the mean ones? I want them to be kind, empathitic people (ya, right, coming from me!).

    Oh! Isn’t life hard?

Leave a Reply

