About a Boy

3 Aug

My friend Henson just turned 11.  He’s starting junior high next week.  I love him to pieces.

Cole loves him even more.

Cole wanted to have Henson over to play–just Henson, not any of the younger kids.  I talked to Henson’s mom because I just wasn’t sure.  Henson is super nice to Cole and they play well, but I do understand that he is Growing Up.  He may not want to be buddies with a first grader.  Right?  So I broached the subject with the mom so she could feel things out.

Sweet Henson.  “I’d love to go play with Cole.”  So he came over for a playdate.  He was charming, of course.  He was nice to both Cole and Owen.  He just played.

I want to cry a little.  A nice boy is a wonderful thing.  Especially as the mom of two younger boys.  Henson is a lot like Cole, bookish and a bit nervous.  And hilarious and goony and sweet.  As I have watched him  grow over the past six years, it gives me a nice map of potential for my guys.

Anyway, shout out to Henson for being the greatest surrogate big brother around.

See, they even shared a computer game with three people without any fuss.

4 Responses to “About a Boy”

  1. spanishjenna August 3, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    Our next door neighbor plays with Isaac–he’s 8–and he’s nice and they have fun together. They are not bookish and nerdy. They are wild and splash in the pool and climb trees and shoot chalk bombs across the yard. When we get to play with Lucas, I make sure to be thankful for him in our family prayers.

  2. Liz August 3, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    Can Henson come over to play with Lincoln? And can he also marry Hannah?

    • eliana23 August 3, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

      Henson is Addison’s big brother and I’m still holding out hope that Cole can marry into their family.

  3. Kate August 6, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    Aw, nice!

Leave a Reply

