Worries

2 Aug

I had this whole post planned, about how I worry less than I used to.  Then I was swimming today and realized that I was wrong.  I just change the things I worry about.

I used to worry about Cole dying all the time.  And paying for college.  Most unproductively, I would worry a lot about getting migraines.  Which led to more.

All three of those things don’t really make the list anymore.  But I haven’t learned to be Zen or anything, I just changed my focus.  I worry about how Cole is like me and worries about things.  How pitiful is that?  I worry about plenty of things, though I don’t call it that.  I’d be more inclined to say that I think too much, which is more accurate.

Things I worry about:

Owen’s brain exploding (literally and metaphorically), Cole learning how to be happy, raising my boys to not be losers in a world where a whole lot of young men are completely unimpressive, my bad genes that I have passed on to my children, the fact that I will never feel financially on top of things, how I’m not as good of a person as I should be and know how to be…There’s more but those are the biggest recurrent themes.

3 Responses to “Worries”

  1. Kristine August 2, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Thoughtful post. I, too, was of the mindset that I am not worrying as much, but you are right… just shifted to different things.

  2. spanishjenna August 2, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    I worry all the time about my boys dying and when they survive, I want them to be good people and to go on missions. Ben doesn’t worry at all. I should have been a man.

  3. katherinepierson2 August 2, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Keep swimming–that probably helps! And, what if the earth’s rotation slows down? Or if an asteroid hits the moon?

Leave a Reply

