Dream Job

31 Jul

One of my favorite books is A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.  Just thinking about it makes me smile with a faraway look.

Francie, the main character, gets a job that I always wanted.  She does newspaper clippings.  She reads lots of papers and cuts out the relevant ones for the clients she is assigned.  Computers do that now.  They aggregate.  There are no scissors or razor sharp edges involved.  It’s too bad, because I would be great at that job.

In college I had a good friend for many years named Will.  He counted fish.   He got paid for it.  He loved it and was perfect at it and I envied that a bit.  Not the counting fish part–I’m not too into wildlife–but the having the perfect job for you part.

So, what’s your dream job?  Obviously, it would pay enough to live on.  This is the perfect world we’re talking about here.

2 Responses to “Dream Job”

  1. Kristine July 31, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Sad that my dream job has now come full circle– it was realized in 5th grade when a personal shopper from Nordstrom came to speak at our career day. Getting paid to shop for people (as opposed to a store). I suppose it would be categorized as a personal stylist, but I only do clothes and nothing else…

    • eliana July 31, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

      Everytime I read a SHOPOHOLIC book I think of you Kris.

Leave a Reply

