A Book Review

27 Jul

The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson

Best book of 2012 I’m gonna say.  The year isn’t done, but wow.  Set in North Korea and somehow so so realistic even though I know very little about it.  The details are amazing–torture chiefs who repeatedly break their own hands so remember how real pain feels.  Loudspeaker announcements about Dear Leader’s 11 holes in one during a golf game.

Haunting I think is the word I would choose.  Love, sadness, hope, fear, desolation, evil, quiet, individuality, brutality.  Choose any big abstract noun and you’ll find it.

I keep talking about this book to Todd.  He may be getting tired of it.  I talked about it a lot driving to the beach (pictures to follow) with my friend Lara yesterday.  Please read it and then talk to me.  Truly an impressive work of art.

One Response to “A Book Review”

  1. Liz July 27, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    It is on my list. Is it in paperback?

Leave a Reply

