Nostalgia

10 Jul

I drove for 8 hours all alone over the past couple days, so I sang my heart out.  51 Indigo Girls songs on the way there, about the same number of Alanis on the way back.  No one else would allow such things so I had to take advantage.

If I have ever loved a person in any way in my life, there is music that goes along with.  There are two notable exceptions which I will tell you about after I share some of the music that makes me think of people

The mom: Billy Joel

The dad: Beach Boys

The hubby: Creedence Clearwater Revival

Loren Allen: Johnny Cash, Ring of Fire

Melissa Brewster: REM, What’s the Frequency Kenneth

Anna Sherwood and Josh Cuddy: Indigo Girls, Swamp Ophelia

Kristine Hanson: Pretty in Pink soundtrack and assorted other bad 80’s music

Annie Bedell: Dar Williams

Lara Smith: Nora Jones

Jeremy Horton: Dire Straits

Jenny Cassidy: John Denver and Olivia Newton John (random, I know)

I won’t continue, you’ve got the point.  I have two good friends, long term friends, who have no music memories: Jenna and the other Todd.  Not music people.  Don’t listen to music with either of them.  Nothing stands out.  So when I have a stroke and all I can remember is music, both of them will be dead to me.  So sad.

2 Responses to “Nostalgia”

  1. spanishjenna July 10, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    Hahaha! I was thinking at the beginning of this post, ” Not me. There will be nothing for me.” Hahaha!

  2. Kristine July 10, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    I love it! Fitting that Indigo Girls’ Swamp Ophelia and Sarah’s Fumbling Towards Ecstasy albums remind me of you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

