Hello Again, Hello!

25 Jun

Shouldn’t all posts reference Neil Diamond songs?  They really should.

All four human members of our family painted cute little birdhouses Sunday morning as an activity.  I really should take a picture but I probably won’t.  After finishing, I saw the sticker on the bottom that said they were not for real life use.  I won’t tell the boys though.

Reading some good books.  Teaching a great summer class–engaged students.  Lovely.  My second class got cancelled for low enrollment so I’m a little sad, having already planned ways to spend the money.

Owen is a disaster from medication challenges.  We won’t speak of it.  He’s exhausting.  The Cole child is taking two parks and rec classes right now which makes him very happy: Science Explorers and A Is for Author, in which they are making a book from start to finish.

We swim a lot.  We are watching old Disney movies every evening, like The Absent Minded Professor and The Love Bug and The Shaggy Dog.  Tonight was Davy Crockett.  I may have uttered the following sentence: “Even now some white people are mean to Indians and people with darker skin.  They think that white people are the most awesome.”  Not sure it was my best teachable moment.

Cole is saving money for a Batman Lego set, so he has an extensive chart.  If he gets all 42 stars each week, he earns $5.  Since we would have bought the blocks anyway, it is a good deal.  This week he gets stars for doing Rosetta Stone Spanish lessons, one job, reading, two math pages, an art project, brushing his teeth, and writing five sentences.  Each day.  Todd and Cole both think I am a task master.  Owen has a chart about which he cares not one drop.

I’ll tell you about my hot weekend plans, but not now.  Can’t spill all the beans in one long overdue post!

3 Responses to “Hello Again, Hello!”

  1. kristine June 25, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    Totally on the same wavelength— I recorded Pollyanna the other night, in hopes of introducing the great WD movies of the past. My kids totally need someone more educationally motivated in their lives. Please teach me how you follow through. At this point, we’re lucky to hit the daily summer speech homework… And daily is totally pushing it.

  2. spanishjenna June 26, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    Sounds very upbeat. I was afraid that the lack of posts was due to the fact that you and/or one of your family members (most likely Owen) had lost it–completely.

    We’re doing a summer reading thing with the library (I want to win the bike!!). Writing down all the books we read made me realize that we read a LOT–like 300 books in the last 2 weeks. It’s not super fair since many of our books have 1 word/page but I didn’t make the rules that say that a newborn book counts the same as a book for a 5 year old. And we have stretched ourselves a little by reading books that you have to pay attention to the words too.

    I’m jealous that you can do crafts with your kids. I keep thinking that Isaac will be able to do crafts someday. And I even try sometimes. Then when I look at all of the Froot Loops scattered around or the stickers stuck to EVERYTHING, I remember why we don’t do crafts in our house–we just run around outside like wild people.

  3. Kate June 26, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    Thanks for the update, yo! Tell us more about these good books you’re reading. Next Indiespensable coming soon (!!).

    Jenna, I remember wishing my kids were old enough to “do crafts.” And then one day they could. Yes, now they can do crafts, but they don’t wear onesies any more. Oh, the trade-offs.

Leave a Reply

