The Search

17 May

My friend Kate is moving in less than two weeks.  Combined with the previous exodus of other good friends, things are looking a bit precarious for me.  The 2012 Quest for a New Friend has not found success yet.

Here are some of the things I am looking for in The Newby (though of course I’m getting desperate and will take much, much less):

  • thinks I am funny, also reasonably funny herself
  • female (sorry guys)
  • reads or watches the news at least once a week
  • does not use the words Tea Party to describe self or just in conversation

Things that would be nice:

  • doesn’t have a baby
  • reads books
  • has opinions, even if different than my own
  • has a hole in her heart the shape of Eliana
  • not obsessed with anything I find weird or creepy, like selling breast milk online or dressing like vampires
  • not stupid

 

6 Responses to “The Search”

  1. kristine May 17, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    Well, I wouldn’t make the cut. 🙂

    • eliana23 May 17, 2012 at 9:17 am #

      whatever

  2. spanishjenna May 17, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    Good thing I’m not in the pool of “new friend for Eliana.” I’d not make the cut.
    #1–News? What’s that? And who has time for it?
    #2–Tea Party Tea Party Tea Party– just kidding–unless you want to be the mad hatter at mine?
    #3–I have 2 babies. Thanks for the reminder.
    #4– I wouldn’t say I’m obsessed with selling breast milk online–but–
    #5–I get stupider with each child and with each year I’m out of the work force–which is why I need to sell breast milk–maybe to vampires.

    • eliana23 May 17, 2012 at 9:26 am #

      I got to know you before you got babies or dumber so you are still in. Think how much harder it is to find friends now that your brain is melting. That’s all I’m saying.

  3. Liz May 18, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    Sorry, i was in the middle of a tea party over here and missed your post yesterday….

  4. Kate May 19, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    Thanks for the attention, you! Indiespensable forever!

Leave a Reply

