Smells

12 May

Last time I got my hair cut I was thrown through a warp in the space/time continuum by the shampoo used.  Biolage, the stuff my mom always had in her shower.  The effect was immediate and pervasive and disconcerting: I turned back into a teenager living in Alaska.

The desert has the best smells sometimes, like night blooming jasmine and orange orchards and rain on parched ground.  But the best smells take you back somewhere else.

Seriously readers, tell me about a smell.

4 Responses to “Smells”

  1. MBC May 12, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    Elementary school=smell of some kind of institutional cleaning supply (but in a good way) and the smell of books with library bindings. Occasionally I enter a school and smell that smell and it reminds me of being 7-years-old.

  2. spanishjenna May 12, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    As if I didn’t already want to move back to Arizona. Thanks a lot.

    You also reminded me of the horrid smell of my house in Monterey during my 1st trimester with Isaac. I don’t know how much of it was me and how much was the house but gross.

  3. kristine May 12, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    I associate every period in my teenage+ life with the fragrance I wore at the time… perfume, VS body lotion, etc. I get sick of smells easily so I have a pretty large collection that I can’t seem to throw away.
    Ralph Lauren’s RALPH perfume = freshman year (and yes I still have it)

  4. Robyn Veras December 3, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    Cleaning supplies are really cheap on the internet.:

    <a href="Brand new brief article on our personal website
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/lysine-side-effects/

Leave a Reply

