Uncomfortable Conversation

3 Apr

There’s an 8 year old boy in our neighborhood who frequently comes by to play with Cole. I am not a fan of him, but such is life you know.  He seems not quite right–he doesn’t leave when I say Cole is gone or can’t come out, and bangs on the door for half an hour sometimes.

Saturday, when said child came by, Cole told me that he doesn’t want to play with him.  Something about it tuned me in and I asked Cole if THE CHILD made him feel uncomfortable.  He started crying and said yes.  I told Cole to listen to those feelings and that I would take care of it.

So I knew I had to go talk to the parents.  I didn’t want to be mean, but if Cole and I both were getting a vibe from this kid then we are done.  I decided I would frame it just as the boy being too old for Cole.  I’ve had trepidation.  So awkward!  Ick.

Yesterday the boy and his mom’s boyfriend (don’t get me started) came by together.  I told them that Cole wasn’t going to be able to play since he is only in kindergarten.  Child didn’t get it.  Adult male asked if something had happened or just the age thing.  I assured him the kid hadn’t done anything, though it seems weird that he asked.  Man seemed to understand and handled it well.  The kid did not.

I feel bad about this whole thing.  Not wrong, pretty sure we should listen to the whisperings of conscience and I definitely want to teach Cole to pay attention to such things.  But just a hard situation all around.  If you have thoughts or advice, I’d welcome them.

2 Responses to “Uncomfortable Conversation”

  1. kristine April 3, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    I’m just glad you caught it early. You obviously did the right thing.

  2. Liz April 3, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    You handled it perfectly, plus you put up a climbing wall in your back yard. A+ mom week for you!

Leave a Reply

