Decisions

15 Mar

In 2010, I planned to run for the school board.  Then I realized that with my family at the moment it was not the right time.

Then late last year I dealt with oodles of annoyances in the elementary school district and decided that I would do it in 2012 because something had to be done.

So now I have to decide for real.  I have talked to a guy I know who was on the high school board for a long time, making sure I understand the time commitment.  I have studied Arizona school board information and finance rules and whatnot.  I have searched my heart to make sure I’m ok with losing, since we have to be honest that it is a very real possibility.

And now I have to figure out if I really want to be on the school board.  Yes and no.  I feel like I have a lot to offer, as an educator and parent of young children and (no offense world) a person with a brain.  I really hate the superintendent and it will be a challenge to be civil.  I hate meetings.  That will be a challenge.  I wish someone else would do this so I didn’t feel like I need to, but that is a pretty good argument for much that is wrong with the whole world.

I am going this week to pick up my candidate packet.  I’m still unsure what I am going to do.  I don’t feel strongly either way.

4 Responses to “Decisions”

  1. Kristine March 15, 2012 at 8:26 am #

    Lots of stuff to consider but it sounds like you’ve thought a lot about it. Good luck with your decision– they’d be lucky to have you.

  2. spanishjenna March 15, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    Do it! As soon as my life calms down a smidge, I’m going to check into getting onto the HOA board in our neighborhood. And at some point I’m going to look into PTA stuff for the elementary school. I’m going civic.

  3. Kate March 15, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Yeah, do it! Go, you! Is this District One?

  4. Liz March 16, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Exciting! You will have great Input and ideas. I am excited for you!

Leave a Reply

