Baby Baby Big Boy

1 Feb

The child turned 3 yesterday.  It was a long day.  He never does well on his birthday so they are always memorable for the wrong reasons.  I got home from DC late Monday night and focused on being a snuggle mom all day, which was what he needed.  There were some fun and happy parts, like playing at the park, but also many hours of crying.  This boy has aged me many many years.

At 36 months, Owen is a miniature person.  He weighs 27 pounds and is 35 inches tall.  Both numbers are right around the 5th percentile which explains why I never think of him as tiny–he’s quite proportionate.  But then I visited Baby Isaac who is 15 months and weighs about the same.  I don’t think Isaac is going to get hand me down clothes any more…

Owen converses like a grown man.  He’s hilarious.  And moody.  Has awesome hair.  Has been told that 3 year olds don’t wear diapers, so we’ll see how that goes.  Owen is frustrated by his age appropriate small motor skills–he just cannot make the W in his name connect.  He’s exceptionally smart which I think is going to be a problem in his life.  If he and Cole had a combined conscience level of 200, Cole has 170 of it and Owen is 30.  I am going to spend my life figured out how to discipline these two very different souls.

 

2 Responses to “Baby Baby Big Boy”

  1. kristine February 1, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    He looks so grown up. Love the skull and crossbones cake!

  2. jenna February 1, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    I had to look at Isaac’s records after I read this–he’s 32″ tall. The Spidey jammies will be a 1-time wear. They were SO cute but the top was almost a belly shirt. Thankfully we’re having a #2.

Leave a Reply

