Old Friends

15 Dec

This is my friend Brooks (and his wife Kari).  Kari is the principal of Cole’s new school and I am trying to stop calling her by her first name, but since I’ve known her for twelve years it is difficult.

I saw Brooks last night at Cole’s terrible Christmas singing thing.  Cole’s class was charming, but for 30 minutes before it were several 6th grade plays and lip synch numbers where you couldn’t hear anything.

Brooks is one of my favorite people in the whole world.  Let me tell you why because it is my blog so you have to listen.

  1. Brooks was my first friend in Yuma.
  2. Brooks is the same age as my father but I don’t hold that against him.
  3. Brooks made the natural gas people actually turn the the gas on in my house when I bought it, after they gave me the run around.  He came to my house while I was at work, let the idiots in, and made sure they did what they were supposed to.
  4. Brooks randomly stops by when he’s in the neighborhood.
  5. Brooks thinks I am great.
  6. Brooks has an eleven year old daughter who worships him.
  7. Brooks recently lost more than 200 pounds.
  8. Brooks is always funny.
  9. Brooks can pick Cole out of a crowd as my kid even when he hasn’t seen him in a year.
  10. If I needed a kidney, or midnight battery jump start, or bad guy killed, or anything else, Brooks would totally take care of it.
  11. When a student wrote me a paper about a brutal murder he committed, Brooks was the person I talked to.

Anyway, it was great to see my friend.  We don’t work together anymore and I don’t see him that often, but that guy makes me happy.  Brooks has the best smile in the whole world, second only to the writer/professor Eugene England in terms of smiling eyes matching up with the mouth.

 

One Response to “Old Friends”

  1. Hilary December 17, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    She was my biology teacher. Thanks to her I love biology.

Leave a Reply

