Arctic

10 Dec

I bought a coat yesterday.  Not one of the dozen light jackets I own, but a winter coat.  I like it a lot, love that it was on sale, and almost wish it was cold enough to wear.

Last time I bought a warm wool jacket, I was 16.  I got a charcoal pea coat at the Army/Navy Surplus store in downtown Anchorage for under $10.  I am not the woman I used to be– much more substantial, so it hasn’t buttoned in a long time.  But the need for winter wear in Yuma is brief.  When we winter travel, I borrow.

But I have two cold weather trips planned for 2012.  One to Salt Lake City, one to Washington D.C.  Both in January.  It seemed an appropriate time to give in and shop.

In other cold weather news, the brutal cold spell we’ve faced all week seems to have ended.  Good thing because we don’t own a lot of pants in this house.  Also good thing because we didn’t get to the park until today and it has been a lot of crazy boy energy around here.  For those of you still having winter (and we are too, just 70s), good luck to you.  Maybe buy a great coat–I think it might help.

2 Responses to “Arctic”

  1. kristine December 11, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    I totally remember your coat from BYU!

  2. Kate December 11, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    This is good writing. I like the ending.

Leave a Reply

