The New School, Part 1

7 Dec

I volunteered yesterday at Cole’s new school.  It was…well, ghetto is the only word that comes to mind.  Not the school, the three other moms involved.  The whole time I was there I felt like a terrible person because in my mind I was cataloging all the weirdness and being judgmental.  But I think you will agree that there was ample material.

I was the only member of the group who does not regularly sell my plasma.  Much conversation centered around different people working at the plasma center, what one does with her plasma money, and the way they screen you each time to make sure you aren’t shooting up drugs.  I had nothing to contribute to this conversation.

I was also the only member of the group who did not have a story about a ‘secret other family’ element.  Two of the three women have half siblings with their same name, secret children of their fathers who the father gave their same name at around the same time.  Daytime television?  Have I got a story for you.  The third person had a similar but slightly different story.

I was the only member of the group to not eat the school hot lunch.

Conclusions: I feel mean and snobby.  I hope I didn’t come off that way.  I was just very quiet.  I literally had nothing to discuss in the three hours I was there.  Not one related anecdote or anything.  It was weird.

I have a very different life than the one I grew up with, one at a much less fun socio-economic level.  Only in Yuma would my life as an unemployed wife of a public school teacher mean that I’m upper middle class.  It is weird to think that, when I feel so poor.

I knew the new school was poor–they are 100% free lunch–so I have no problem with that.  I’ll write more tomorrow about the amazing transformation this change has been for Cole.  But there are certainly going to be some things to get used to down in the hood.

2 Responses to “The New School, Part 1”

  1. Hilary December 7, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Question: How did the topic of secret families come up while helping in the classroom?

  2. Kate December 8, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    This post was quite hilarious. I can’t wait to hear more about it in person! Maybe sometime soon . . . .

Leave a Reply

