Naming

1 Dec

If you’ve read Freakonomics, you may recall a section about names.  I won’t get into details, but I live in a very poor community filled with stereotypical ghetto names.  Goodness, it causes me pain sometimes.  I have a student this semester named Babyruth.  Poor woman.

Anyway, Cole’s new class…There’s some normal names like Sergio, Noah, Isabella.  Then we have the kids where I have to ask a lot of questions to make sure I understand what he’s talking about.  Like Crag.  I assumed Cole was wrong, that the boy is named Craig.  I was wrong.  He’s Crag.  He joins other boys in the class named Ever, Sharad (rhymes with Jared), Alarcan.

Girls include Daija and Alijah.

We are still working on learning the other names.  Cole even thinks they are weird; he speculates that they might be Spanish, which some are.  But that isn’t the problem.  What’s the deal with making up weird ass names?  At least there are no Jaden/Jaydyn/Jadin variations, as far as I know.

 

4 Responses to “Naming”

  1. kristine December 1, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    We are surrounded by Indians so the names here are crazy. The fact that my kids have speech delay issues anyway makes it virtually impossible to know who they are referring to when they talk about their “school friends.” Seems like a lot of cultures have their own names. Like Utah Mormons, for instance… that could be it’s own post… (or maybe not just Utah? ) 🙂

  2. kristine December 1, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    p.s didn’t Alanis name her baby Ever?

  3. spanishjenna December 2, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Crag! Ha ha ha! Crag Peddicord. I can see it now. Ben didn’t blink an eyelash. That could mean so many things.

    And the mere mention of Jayden/Ayden/Kayden/Brayden . . . .<> What is wrong with people. Worst names of all time.

  4. ANNIE December 5, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    Ha ha ha….. my friend Jan and I always laugh at people and their stupid made up names for kids. Sometimes, for entertainment, we watch episodes of the Maury show where they’re conducting paternity tests. The people are so stupid… “I’m 1000000% sure I am not the father Maury! We only had sex once! My doctor says I can’t make girls I only have one testicle!” It seems like their levels of intelligence directly correlate with the made up names, such as Laqueesha. Seriously? Laqueesha. Sheesh. Anyway, this made me laugh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

