Petty

28 Nov

Recognize up front that I know I sound not so good in this story.

I was nominated this semester for Teacher of the Year at the college where I have been adjunct since 2001.  This involved the most painful 30 minutes of my life wherein I had to sit outside my classroom while someone talked to my class about me.  Every awkward feeling I’ve ever had, amplified.

The prize if I won said honor?  A parking place with my name on it for the whole year.  At a campus where I don’t teach.  But still, imagine the photo opportunities!

While away this week, I got an email (followed up with a letter waiting at home) telling me that I didn’t win.  Fine.  The individual who did win is a karate instructor.  Somehow this is bothersome to me.  Karate is well and good, but…really?  Do they even have homework in karate class?  Come on now.

 

 

2 Responses to “Petty”

  1. Jenna November 28, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    It feels stupid. I know. I didn’t need to win teacher of the year either but for my application to be “screwed up” because of where I worked–totally still bitter–after like 10 years.

    And how hard is it to be cool if you teach karate? Just ask Cole. He would have nominated his karate teacher over you, I’m sure.

  2. kristine December 1, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    Well at least you have a great story to tell about it. 🙂 Karate.. too funny.

Leave a Reply

